The Office

 

I’ve never been very big on comedy television. Not because I’m a fun hater or don’t like to laugh or anything, in fact some of my favorites shows are comdie. The truth of it is that most of the comedy made for television (especially network TV) is nothing but rigid formulaic crap and is not worth the time it takes to watch it. I would rather gouge my eyes out that watch the sitcom of the month on FOX or CBS. Washed up ‘stars’, rehashed plots and jokes aren’t exactly my thing.

Every once in awhile though there come along shows that are truly diamonds in the rough. For me (and millions of other viewers) NBC’s The Office is one such show. You would have to be living in a cave for the last five years if you have never heard of it. It is very easy to fall in love with the witty (and some times outrageous)  dialog and acting. The show is so well written that it is easy to sympathize with even the show’s oddest characters. I’ve always kind of felt that a great comedy can really make you feel uncomfortable as you watch it. That is to say that there are situations that are real enough that you feel the embarrassment of the characters on screen as if it were your own. This is especially true with Michael. There are so many times I just cringe watching him try to interact with anyone as he is just so social awkward

I really enjoy the way in which the show is shot. Shooting it in a mockumentary style is an absolutely crucial elemt in the show’s makeup and style. The camera is able to act as its own character, allowing for a whole new set of jokes and situations that wouldn’t be present in a tradiitional multi-camera sitcom shot in front of a studio audience. I’m eternally grateful to the shows producers for not shooting in front of an aaudience. I really can’t emphasise enought just how much I can’t stand laugh tracks or studio audiences.

Anyways if you somehow aren’t watching this show yet, you should do something to change that. Full episodes are availible for free on IMDb.